Second And Third DUI Charges In New Jersey

In New Jersey, you can serve more time for a DUI conviction than for robbery. While you can get probation for robbery, 180 days in jail is mandatory for a third DUI offense.

At the Law Office of Stephen D. Williams in Flemington, New Jersey, we represent people who have been charged with a second or third DUI. Attorney Stephen D. Williams is dedicated to providing you an aggressive defense that minimizes the potential consequences you will face. He offers a free 30-minute consultation to discuss your case.

Protecting You From Harsh Consequences

The consequences of a DUI conviction are extremely harsh if you have prior convictions for DUI or refusal to take a Breathalyzer test. The following chart outlines the penalties:

DUI offensePenalties
Second offense
  • $500 to $1,000 fine
  • Thirty days of community service

  • Two days to 90 days in jail

  • Two-year driver's license suspension

  • $1,000 driver's license surcharge for three years
Third offense
  • $1,000 fine
  • Up to 90 days community service
  • Minimum of 180 days in jail
  • Ten-year driver's license suspension

  • $1,500 driver's license surcharge for three years

Even if you think you are guilty of the charges, it's important to put your case in the hands of an experienced defense lawyer as soon as possible.

Defenses Against Second And Third DUI Charges

One way to defend you from the consequences of a second or third DUI offense is to review your earlier convictions. If a prior conviction occurred more than three years ago, it does not count as a prior offense. If an earlier offense was entered on your record incorrectly or you were not properly defended, that conviction may be set aside.

Attorney Stephen D. Williams will carefully review the circumstances of your current arrest and your past convictions and prepare the strongest possible defense.

Learn more about defenses to DUI charges in New Jersey.

Contact A DUI Defense Lawyer Serving Hunterdon County

To schedule a free 30-minute consultation with an experienced Flemington second and third DUI defense attorney, contact the Law Office of Stephen D. Williams at 908-483-7713 or toll free at 888-536-8349.