Refusing A Breathalyzer Test In New Jersey

Refusing a Breathalyzer test is not a good idea in New Jersey. You actually face a longer driver's license suspension for refusal than you would for DUI with a blood alcohol content of .08 to .10. You also face the potential of being convicted of DUI.

At the Law Office of Stephen D. Williams in Flemington, New Jersey, we defend people who face DUI charges, including refusal to take a Breathalyzer test. Stephen D. Williams is an accomplished trial lawyer who has more than 25 years of experience handling DUI cases. He offers a free 30-minute consultation to discuss your case.

Penalties For Refusal To Take A Breathalyzer Test

New Jersey is an implied consent state, which means that you do not have the right to refuse a Breathalyzer test. The penalties for refusal include:

  • Six month driver's license suspension, with the possibility of an additional three-month suspension if you are convicted of DUI
  • $300–$500 fine
  • $1,000/year license surcharge for three years

Are There Defenses To Refusing A Breathalyzer Test?

Police need a legal reason to pull you over and ask you to submit to a Breathalyzer test. If the stop was illegal, then all evidence collected after the stop — including your refusal to take a breath test — may be suppressed. Attorney Stephen D. Williams can also challenge the results of the field sobriety test.

Mr. Williams will carefully review the circumstances of your stop and subsequent arrest and prepare the strongest possible defense based on the facts of your case.

Contact A DUI Defense Lawyer Serving Hunterdon County

To schedule a free 30-minute consultation with an experienced Flemington DUI defense lawyer, contact the Law Office of Stephen D. Williams at 908-483-7713 or toll free at 888-536-8349.